Basil Spots Are Not Good Spots

Because I am a certified half-assed gardener, I am spending this lovely Saturday early afternoon taking pictures and writing about my garden rather than working on it. That said, I have bought some plants and put some in containers (pepper, eggplant) and some in my L-shaped garden, which stands for “love” or “loser,” I’m not sure which. Here is my L-garden from two angles: long leg and short leg (of the L). After seeing where we are today, in a general sort of way, I’ll show you some specifics, and when I finish I’ll go out and begin addressing some of the problems.

First, the EL:

L Garden, long side

L Garden, long side

Short side

Short side

Now for what to do. It may be apparent that about 15 basil plants (with returning rosemary and mint and some sage interspersed) have been planted. Oh-oh, brown spots! From what I can tell, these are from too much moisture. We have had a fair amount of rain, but their poor bound roots looked dry and so I watered them as well, when I put them….Everyone knows you’re supposed to do that.

Basil spots--too much moisture, I think.

Basil spots–too much moisture, I think.

What I shall do is cut or pinch off all the affected leaves and eat them (tonight) and see if that helps. At any rate, it will help me and whoever is lucky enough to dine with me. May the kale grow heartily without the spots, hereafter.

Now the next exhibit are my two returning vegetables that I’ve let bolt and now must let them finish. First is the kale, which has lovely seed pods, which I did not expect. Second is the beautiful fennel, which has come back after bolting last fall, at which time I harvested all the seeds (and ate them or gave them away).

Beautiful kale seed pods--I wonder if they taste good...?

Beautiful kale seed pods–I wonder if they taste good…?


I love fennel, even if I did mis-name the file "dill." It's fennel, may it grow in peace.

I love fennel, even if I did mis-name the file “dill.” It’s fennel, may it grow in peace.

Finally, there’s this messy corner, where the rain barrel I made is disconnected and therefore not collecting rain and where leaves have tumbled and crab grass invaded. It is my hope that by Memorial Day, this will look very different.

What is the corner of an L called where the long and short leg meet. The crotch? Okay, then!

What is the corner of an L called where the long and short leg meet. The crotch? Okay, then!

So here it is after cleaning–nice and mulched and much more inviting, both to look at and to grow things:

A garden well tended promises a good season.

A garden well tended promises a good season.

Leave a Reply

